Nigeria: SA now on COVID ‘Red List’ for Arriving Travellers

Officials stated during a briefing on Monday that Nigeria is adding South Africa to its “red list” of nations with rigorous restrictions on arriving travelers.

Due to the spread of the Delta strain in South Africa, Nigeria is imposing the limitations, according to Chikwe Ihekweazu, the chairman of the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control. India, Brazil, and Turkey are among the countries on the list.

“In Nigeria, we haven’t found the Delta variant yet,” Ihekweazu said during the briefing.

Bunnaj Africa gathered that non-Nigerian passport holders and non-residents who visited the countries on the list within 14 days are barred entry from Nigeria, while passport holders and residents must undergo a seven-day quarantine in a government-approved facility at cost to the passenger.

According to the guidelines, they must also take COVID-19 tests after 24 hours of their arrival and again after seven days of quarantine..

Nigeria expects an additional 3.924 million doses of the Oxford/AstraZeneca vaccine from the COVAX scheme by August 2021, and 29.85 million doses of the Johnson & Johnson vaccine from the African Union by September, according to Faisal Shuaib, the head of the country’s National Primary Health Care Development Agency.

Nigeria received 3.92 million doses of the AstraZeneca vaccine through COVAX in March and has given out 3.44 million shots thus far. The existing COVAX supply is scheduled to run out by the end of July.

News on Alafarika studies , consultancy, events, and editorials.

Similar Topics